top of page

Newcastle v Arsenal - Preview


Though I was just a young’un, I have recollections of Steve McClaren’s Middlesbrough having an unfathomable knack for beating the so-called ‘big’ teams. They were the gamblers nightmare – they would draw a home banker to Portsmouth, lose to West Ham, before dispatching Man Utd 4-1 (15-29 October 2005). As a fan, little frustrates me more. I am (usually) a logical person. If my team is capable of beating Man Utd, it should beat Portsmouth. And when it doesn’t, I am left trying to make sense of it all.

Perhaps not so sadly, football doesn’t really work like this. The beauty of 11 humans against another 11 humans is the guarantee of anomalies, inconsistencies, surprises, and the just plain crazy. Newcastle were awful against Swansea – but somehow turned in a performance at Old Trafford that even had the fans singing the Coloccini song again. Now, perhaps this is not all down to chance. It’s true, of course, that players (and managers) tend to raise their games against the big clubs.

Any Newcastle fan over the age of 18 should remember Laurent Robert. A magician on his day. A magician who had forgot all his props on others. It was striking that his best performances always seemed to coincide with playing a French-laden Arsenal team. In a different sense, you could also make the case that playing a ‘big’ team is in some ways easier. Not only are you hopefully up for it – but aware you won’t pose much of an attacking threat, you’re resigned to digging in, defending, and scrapping for all you can. The pressure is off, too. I saw this at Man Utd. It would have been different had the Red Devlis scored in the first 20 minutes, but their lack of profligacy inaugurated a siege mentality in the Newcastle camp that produced a refreshingly memorable performance.

The Outlook:

Having said that, Arsenal, despite their stuttering start, are a good team, easily capable of beating Newcastle on any given day. But then, Newcastle have turned in some genuinely encouraging performances against the Gunners. I don’t even want to bring up the 4-4 because it’s become something of a verbal tick for pundits in search of an anecdote for either Cheick Tiote, Arsenal frailty, or the ‘magic’ of the Premier League. But, the 4-4.

Even John Carver who, along with Steve Kean and Terry Connor, still give me hope that one day I can manage in the PL, inspired a fairly passionate and encouraging display against Arsenal. In the second half, anyway. Indeed, I also remember a 1-0 win for Arsenal at SJP a couple of years ago where Arsene Wenger implored his players to play it long, concerned of a Newcastle fight back. This uncharacteristic tactic makes me think that Wenger doesn’t really like playing up there. So, I do think (even though the Toon haven’t beaten Arsenal since Andy Carroll’s header at the Emirates) that Newcastle carry the potential for an upset.

A look to the two teams in present form and I am further encouraged. Confidence is invaluable across the board but especially playing at home against a top four side. I think Newcastle have confidence right now. They should be buoyed by their resilience on Saturday – and their display in the Capital One Cup should generate a feel-good factor amongst players and fans alike, even if it was against Northampton. I like the arrival of Thauvin.

For me, he will be an upgrade on Cabella, even though I would like to have seen the now on loan man given another season. Wijnaldum continues to look the part. Mitrovic is insane – but put in an excellent shift on Saturday. Siem de Jong remains a curious case, but if he stays fit he should turn into the player he was touted to be. Colback and Anita are solid enough, and suddenly the back four have realized they can defend. I suppose the question there is does McClaren reintroduce Daryl Janmaat? I’ll go with…yes.

Let’s hope Arsenal remain without Koscielny and Mertesacker. Callum Chambers looked nervous against Liverpool and there is potential to upset the apple cart early doors. Time and time again, regardless of which Arsenal players are on the pitch, it is proven that if you give them space and freedom to play, you may as well watch from the stands. Approach them with aggression and tenacity early on, and something could fall in your favour. It’s a good time to play them. Let’s get the win.

Possible XI:

I imagine Janmaat will replace Taylor. Will Thauvin replace Obertan? Will Sissoko be fit? Otherwise, unchanged.

Tactics?

Score more than they opposition? Sorry, just had my daily Michael Owen moment. I’m glad I live in Canada, where his inane commentary is yet to reach these here shores. As they say, Arsenal don’t like it up ‘em. I’m not going all Pulis here, but Newcastle ought to play with power and pace. Let’s hope Sissoko plays Get the ball into Mitrovic early.

Prediction?

Genuinely think the Toon can do it here. 2-1. *Disclaimer: I’m always wrong. I’m the Mike Williamson of predictions. But even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in a while (or scores a goal against Northampton).


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
bottom of page